Walking Tour of Springfield Illinois

Across the street from the hotel …

I follow the street to a nearby pedestrian mall …

The pedestrian mall is great, but around the corner I bump into some confusion …

I keep walking until I bump into …

and …

I have a beer and make my way towards Abe’s …

It’s a neat blend of urbanism into historic small town fabric, but the visible tall buildings act as a constant reminder of your real time and place.

It’s odd to see train tracks at grade through a town, but this isn’t an ordinary town. It’s Abe’s town – and no matter where you look, you’re constantly reminded of that …

5 thoughts on “Walking Tour of Springfield Illinois

  1. Welcome to Central ILL Nate… You should have made it over to Peoria, we could have written 4 months of work! I think the comic strip is a nice touch to bring light some interesting points.

    To give you an idea of how Illinois works, the decisions of the State are made in Chicago, but have to get them passed in Springfield (approx 5 hours apart). Lots of frequent driver miles and thus Springfield is deconstructed at the core to make room for such day trip tourists and the rest of commercial development has flocked to Interstate 55 to capitalize on this as well.

    I wish our capital was more like Madison or Austin, there I said it.

    1. I drove through Peoria, and I was pretty impressed with the mid-size city skyline. It looks like you’ve got a decent core [of course, I didn’t see street level]. By and large, I like cities that are sized like Peoria and Springfield. There’s a lot of good stuff there, tons of potential, it just needs to be realized. From what I heard while down there echos what you’ve said – it’s a suitcase government town. I imagine that a frequently running train between the two towns during peak-political season might be a good idea [does Springfield have this? and is it used?].

      Madison and Austin are great capitals – however, from what I can tell, there are a lot of capitals that are envious of Springfield.

      Best -Nate

  2. I really admire your creative use of the photos to “walk” your readers through your journey in Springfield. I too try to focus my blogs on photos. So often in the urban planning realm, a good photo or graphic can say so much more than lots and lots of text.

    1. Thanks. I like photo blogs that are light on reading. I found myself just skimming stuff and thought, well – that’s what people are likely doing here. So, I downloaded a free App (“Text Here”) and I can basically do it all on my phone.

      Thanks for reading/looking at photos! Best -Nate

  3. Point of clarification for you: none of the SDAT team was paid for their time. Travel costs are covered, but they were all there on their own – not even a $500 stipend!

Comments are closed.